QIC – 與CEO對談第四期:蔡佳宏, 伊雲谷(6689 TT)創辦人暨執行長

伊雲谷,一家甫於2013年創立於台灣的公司,在2019年ChannelE2E評選的全球200大公有雲託管服務商(Managed Service Provider,MSP)名單中躍居第15,而在其前方的多是全球IT服務商巨頭如Accenture、Rackspace。攤開它的客戶名單,令人驚豔的是裡面不乏各國政府單位、國營公司、國際金融與大型零售、科技公司,能讓這些大客戶在遷移上公有雲的過程中,不約而同選擇一家成立僅六年多的公司來協助,伊雲谷憑藉的沒有別的,就是它在MSP領域的專業與實力,讓台灣的雲端服務能力也能被世界看見,打破台灣就是強在硬體的思維。

身為台灣的雲端代表隊之一,伊雲谷從大多數企業還不清楚如何導入公有雲服務時,就開始隱身在亞馬遜雲端服務(Amazon Web Services,AWS)這個巨人的招牌底下,默默耕耘、不斷累積實力。經過五年的高速增長,伊雲谷的雲端業務營收於2019年達到新台幣25億元,佔整體合併營收近四成,也較2014年的規模成長超過245倍。交出這樣一張亮麗成績單的背後,是伊雲谷創辦人暨執行長蔡佳宏這位靈魂人物,帶領公司兩百多位年輕人一起往前衝的成果。

第一名,還要再創下更多第一名

回顧蔡佳宏創辦伊雲谷的契機,要回溯到公司另一塊業務:企業級硬碟分銷。創業之前,蔡佳宏擁有多年在中國運營硬碟業務的經驗,因此他先於2012年成立聯佳(現為伊雲谷的企業級硬碟分銷部門),目前是Western Digital在大中華區最大的企業級硬碟分銷商,這塊業務2019年佔伊雲谷合併營收約六成。聯佳創立初期,蔡佳宏表示,「我們觀察到公司的硬碟產品主要都賣往資料中心,所以當AWS在2014年3月進軍台灣時,我們就開始跟AWS接觸,成為首批AWS代理商。」

最早伊雲谷是從串流(streaming)切入,蔡佳宏表示,「我們第一個重要專案是2014年11月台北市長候選人柯文哲與連勝文的直播辯論,現在你們可能沒辦法想像,當時根本沒有人會做直播,就我們在做。」取得成功之後,蔡佳宏前往中國與當時AWS大中華區執行董事容永康洽談,但由於串流在中國需要政府審批,容永康建議伊雲谷轉為MSP。經過評估,伊雲谷於2015年5月正式轉為AWS的MSP,「那一年我們的雲端營收較前一年成長十倍,我們因此覺得這是對的商業模式,當然也考量了這個業務有很好的現金流,因為我過去做生意是沒有賠過錢的。」在確定MSP是伊雲谷未來的策略方向後,蔡佳宏便開始大量投入資源並與AWS密切合作。

蔡佳宏形容,「伊雲谷的勝出,經歷的是競爭對手在初期市場還小的時候『看不起』這個市場,接著在缺乏必要資源投入之下『看不懂』市場,後來『學不會』必要的技能,最終『打不過』我們。一開始我們可能不是AWS最好的合作夥伴,但我們一直調整自己,去變成他最好的合作夥伴。」目前伊雲谷已經在AWS的生態系統中創造了許多第一。它是第一家得到AWS認證的大中華區高級諮詢合作夥伴,也是台灣第一大的AWS MSP。憑藉台灣的成功經驗,伊雲谷在2016年受到AWS的邀請,進軍香港,不到兩年即做到香港第一大,接著陸續布局中國與東南亞各國,並於大中華區建立起最大的AWS MSP服務團隊。此外,在全球新興的雲端服務商中,伊雲谷是第一家成功公開發行、於2018年7月登錄台灣興櫃市場的公司,至今已吸引超過16%的外資股東持股。蔡佳宏表示,「未來伊雲谷絕對會繼續保持我們的先進者優勢,拿下更多第一名,先進者會稱霸這個市場,是贏者通吃的概念,如果要做小,就不要做。」

用一張巨大的蜘蛛網「黏」住客戶

為什麼企業上AWS不自己上,還要找MSP?蔡佳宏回應,「我們之所以有價值,是因為AWS每四小時會推出一項新服務,一般企業的IT不會特別去學習這塊技能,他們因此希望有一個靠譜的MSP提供最好的建議。」蔡佳宏以樂高比喻MSP的角色,「AWS的每項服務像一塊塊樂高積木,我們協助客戶從千百塊積木中,挑選與善用資源拼成他們想要的成品,客戶想要車子我們就協助他拼成車子。透過提供顧問(consultation)、導入(implementation)與遷移(migration)等服務,我們做出符合客戶需求的方案,並協助後續的管理跟運維。這些服務的價值讓客戶通常會選擇持續留在我們的平台上,因此MSP的營收是經常性的(recurring)。」

以伊雲谷與香港一家保險公司的合作為例,他們想要設計一個航班延誤自動理賠系統,對於購買相關保險的客戶,可省去其提供大量文件申請理賠的步驟。伊雲谷透過運用AWS「樂高積木」所開發的架構,讓該保險公司得以:1) 使用程式掃描全世界機場的資料,2) 判定航班是否延誤達一定時間,須理賠客戶,3) 自動支付理賠金給購買相關航班延誤險的客戶。

伊雲谷過去幾年觀察到MSP業務有兩個重要特質,第一是前述提到的高客戶續約率,第二是既有客戶每年上雲金額通常會持續往上,亦即既有客戶是驅動伊雲谷營收成長的一大關鍵因素。蔡佳宏表示,「特別是你不知道客戶會長到多大,以我們一個金融業客戶為例,一年後用量比剛開始上雲時漲了50倍。如果用水來比喻客戶的雲端用量,雲端服務就像一個可以乘載無限水流的水管,一旦客戶打開水流,水不只持續流過,水流還越來越大。因此我們的長期目標就是積極增加客戶數、提升客戶續約率、並讓客戶使用更多服務。」蔡佳宏並指出,「我不斷告訴我的員工,如果五年後IaaS (Infrastructure as a Service) 變成大宗商品(commodity),我們必須要提供差異化的服務去黏住客戶,也因此我們的策略是賺錢了就再投資人才、技術、新區域的擴充。」

蔡佳宏形容這些投資就像形成一個巨大的蜘蛛網,爭取新客戶,同時也將既有客戶「黏」在伊雲谷的平台上,拉開與競爭對手之間的差距。蔡佳宏表示,「例如我們自己開發的ATLAS自動化雲管理平台,是從公司剛成為MSP就開始建置。我們不斷在這個平台上用長時間累積的經驗增添新的功能與創新,持續保持先進者優勢,建構很多別人還沒有的雲端服務去佔領先機,讓企業客戶可以自動化監控他們在世界各地機房的機器。」另外伊雲谷也走在競爭對手前面,為企業的數位轉型做準備,投資不同的技術,「每一個能力都可以長出來新的業務,我們之前就是不斷經歷這樣的過程。」

全亞洲最懂AWS的專家

蔡佳宏表示,「過去幾年,AWS不僅看著我們不斷投資技術與人才,也見證我們的專業能力不斷提升。他們看到一家像我們這麼擅長使用他們『樂高積木』的合作夥伴,當然很開心。這在我們進入新區域時帶來很大好處,因為一開始大多數的客戶都是經過AWS推薦,讓我們儘管是一家才創立六年多的公司,還是能取得當地政府或是大型企業的案子。例如我們今年才剛在馬來西亞設好辦公室,AWS就已經介紹很多大型企業的案子給我們準備去執行,前幾年我們布局菲律賓跟新加坡市場時也是同樣的情形。我們現在光是做AWS的生意,都要一直補人才了。」

蔡佳宏亦指出,整體MSP產業在亞洲不含日韓的市場規模,估計在2023年可以達到美金150億以上,而其中AWS相關的份額肯定還是第一位。「這是一個夠大的市場,可以容納很多競爭者,而我們的目標很明確,就是在AWS當中不斷增加滲透率,成為全亞洲最懂AWS的專家。」因為伊雲谷夠專業,在AWS底下,一步一腳印累積相關認證、成功案例、知名度,建構業界最完整的自動化雲端管理平台,不斷擴大團隊規模並強化技術實力,才能得到AWS的信任,「現在AWS會把大型企業客戶、難的案子丟給我們,因為AWS不希望你把他的客戶做死了。攤開數據來看,我們就是有比競爭對手更高的關單率。」

另一方面,蔡佳宏認為,提供多雲的服務比較適合大型的global SI(例如Accenture),他們已經累積很龐大的客戶群,可提供客戶不同雲的建議。「如果我們要做到多雲,人員的部署需要更大,要維持獲利就會更加困難。」因此目前伊雲谷仍維持其專心做AWS的策略,跟隨著AWS成長,並持續增加在AWS裡面的滲透率,這樣的策略會優先於提供其他雲的服務。「但是這不代表我們完全不提供其他雲的服務,如果客戶要求我們提供其他雲的建議,我們也會在這種情況下提供。」

今年雲端業務仍維持良好增速,無畏COVID-19疫情的挑戰

雖大環境面臨COVID-19疫情的挑戰,伊雲谷的雲端業務今年以來仍然維持高速增長趨勢不變。蔡佳宏指出,「我們對於因為疫情爆發而失去摯愛家人的家庭感到遺憾,也期盼相關治療藥物跟疫苗可以盡快問世。疫情對我們雲端業務上半年的影響較小,第一是因為我們95%以上都是經常性(recurring)的營收,客戶已經上雲的部分仍持續成長,第二是我們去年開始深耕的客戶,今年上半年也開始發酵。目前我們各個區域客戶拜訪的程序都已經回到正常,相信整體雲端營收不管是今年或是接下來幾年都會維持快速成長力道。」

蔡佳宏表示,「我們一直持續執行擴充到其他區域的計畫,希望在疫情結束之後盡快加速東南亞的布局。東南亞是我們下一階段成長率最高的區域,像是我們在菲律賓2019年的營收較2018年成長十倍,代表我們做了對的事情。」談到疫情對於雲端業務的長期影響,蔡佳宏指出,「疫情影響之下,會讓很多企業加速核心系統上雲,這部分我們已經都有布局。」

而所有布局當中很重要的一環就是人才的培育與留任,伊雲谷除了自有一套系統性培育人才的方式之外,蔡佳宏在訪談的最後也指出,「一開始伊雲谷還沒沒無聞的時候,找人是非常困難的,而現在我們在業界已經打響一定知名度,慢慢變成人才主動向我們靠攏。我們往IPO去走,也是希望能進一步提升公司知名度,吸引更多年輕的新血加入我們公司,壯大我們的團隊。」至於會不會擔心人才被挖角?「會,每天都怕,但是就是要對員工好到他們不想走!我們要讓員工跟客戶一起都『黏』在我們的蜘蛛網上。」

參考來源:Quantum International Corp (QIC)

2020-07-02T13:58:44+00:00 2020/07/02 |商業洞悉, 雲講堂|

QIC- CEO Conversations Installment IV: MP Tsai, Founder and CEO of eCloudvalley (6689 TT)

If one were looking for the measure of just how far Taiwan-based eCloudvalley has come since its founding in 2013, there is no need to look any further than its No. 15 ranking in ChannelE2E’s Top 200 Public Cloud Managed Service Provider (MSP) list for 2019 – especially when it is taken into account that the companies at the top of the list are mostly global IT service giants such as Accenture and Rackspace. Furthermore, eCloudvalley’s customer base includes the government organizations, state-owned companies, international financial institutions, large-scale retailers and technology companies. On the surface, it seems that it would require a leap of faith for such large-scale customers to depend on a company that is just past its 6th anniversary to help migrate their data to a public cloud. Yet, it is a testament to eCloudvalley’s expertise in the MSP space that so many large organizations rely on them. ECV has not only made Taiwan’s cloud service capabilities evident to the world but has helped to break the stereotype that Taiwan is competitive only in hardware.

To achieve its current position as Taiwan’s pre-eminent player in the cloud services space, eCloudvalley began developing its proficiency in the Amazon Web Services (AWS) ecosystem at a time when most companies were still unsure about how to migrate to public clouds and what the benefits of doing so could be. In 2019, after five years of rapid growth, eCloudvalley’s cloud services revenue reached NT$2.5 billion (US$85M), accounting for nearly 40% of its consolidated revenue, and having grown over 245 times over its 2014 scale. The driving force behind this excellent performance is Founder and CEO MP Tsai and his staff of over 200 talented young cloud services experts.

Not satisfied with one No. 1 ranking, MP and his team crave many more

Looking back, it was actually the enterprise storage distribution portion of eCloudvalley’s business that inspired MP to enter the cloud service business. Prior to starting his own business, MP accumulated many years of operational experience in the hard disk drive industry in China. So, when starting up his own business, MP established Allianz Vantage in 2012 (now the enterprise storage division of eCloudvalley), which is now the largest enterprise storage distributor for Western Digital in Greater China. The division accounted for roughly 60% of eCloudvalley’s consolidated revenue in 2019. “In the early years of Allianz Vantage’s existence,” says MP, “We observed that the majority of our enterprise storage products were being shipped to datacenters. Therefore, after AWS launched its services in Taiwan in March 2014, we began building relationships with AWS; and were chosen amongst their first batch of AWS partners in Taiwan.”

eCloudvalley’s first AWS-related offerings were streaming services. Says MP, “Our first major contract was for the live streaming of the November 2014 Debates between Taipei Mayoral candidates Wen-Je Ko (柯文哲) and Sean Lien (連勝文). Thinking back on it, it is hard to believe that no other service providers knew how to do live streaming at that time. We were the only one that offered such services.” After eCloudvalley’s success with that project, MP went to China to discuss eCloudvalley’s future development with Alex Yung (容永康), the Managing Director of AWS Greater China at the time. As the streaming business required government approval in China while the MSP business did not, Mr. Yung suggested that eCloudvalley pivot its model to becoming an MSP. After an internal evaluation, eCloudvalley made the pivot, officially becoming an AWS MSP in May 2015. Says MP, “Our 2015 cloud revenue increased tenfold over the previous year, and we quickly realized that it was an attractive business model. We also couldn’t help but notice that the business was generating robust cash flow – which was important to me, as I have never run a money-losing business.” It was at this point that MP set eCloudvalley’s long-term strategic direction in stone and began focusing the company’s resources on building an MSP business in close cooperation with AWS.

As MP describes it, “We’ve become the leader in this space because the market was quite small in the early days, so potential competitors did not care enough about it. As a result, they didn’t put in the work necessary to understand the market. Having neglected to ‘pay their tuition’, they did not perceive the opportunity, nor did they develop the skills necessary to understand the market and to compete in it. We may not have initially been AWS’ best partner, but we have continuously sought to improve our level of service to our customers and, in the process, evolved to become AWS’ best partner.” Up to today, eCloudvalley has achieved many firsts within the AWS ecosystem. eCloudvalley was the first AWS Premier Consulting Partner in the Greater China Region and is also the largest AWS MSP in Taiwan. Because of its outstanding performance in Taiwan, eCloudvalley was invited by AWS to enter the Hong Kong market in 2016. Not surprisingly, it became the No. 1 AWS MSP in Hong Kong in less than two years. eCloudvalley subsequently expanded its operations in China and began developing its business in Southeast Asia – and it now has the largest AWS MSP service team in Greater China. Last but not least, eCloudvalley was the first amongst its global cloud service provider peers to become a publicly listed company when it listed on the Taiwan Emerging Stock Board in July 2018. With that accomplished, eCloudvalley soon attracted a 16% FINI holding. MP is keeping his eyes focused firmly forward, pointing out, “In the future, we will maintain our first-mover advantage. To dominate the market, we must always hold onto this mindset. This is a winner-take-all market, and our attitude is go big or go home.”

Spinning an enormous spider web so that customers “stick” around

When asked why an enterprise would want/need to hire an MSP to migrate to AWS rather than doing it by themselves, MP replies, “AWS adds a new service every four hours, and most enterprise IT staffs are not willing or able to expend the effort to keep up. They need a reliable MSP to offer them suggestions for how to best use all these new tools. Herein lies our value. Each AWS service is like a LEGO brick, and we help customers select the appropriate bricks among those thousands of bricks to construct their desired final products. If a customer wants to build a car, we help them to build the car that meets all their needs. We provide consultation, implementation and migration services to our customers, as well as offer subsequent management, operation and maintenance services. There is a strong incentive for our customers to stick with us because they genuinely value the service and find us indispensable. Therefore, our MSP revenue is recurring.”

An excellent example of this is eCloudvalley’s collaboration with a Hong Kong-based insurance company. The company aimed to create an automated reimbursement system for flight delays that would eliminate the need for travel insurance policy owners to manually provide the many documents necessary to file a claim. Using AWS’ “LEGO Blocks”, eCloudvalley developed a system architecture that allowed the company to: i) build a program to scan data from airports around the world; ii) determine which flights had been delayed long enough to trigger an insurance payout; and iii) automatically make a payment to the customers who had purchased insurance for that flight.

eCloudvalley has observed two important characteristics of their business over the past several years. First, customer retention rates are high. Second, existing customers tend to expand the scope of their spending on cloud services, often rapidly. In other words, existing customers are a key driver of eCloudvalley’s revenue growth. In MP’s words, “You never know just how big your customer’s budget for cloud services can become. Using a client of ours from the financial industry as an example, the company increased its usage of cloud services by a factor of 50 only one year after their initial migration to the cloud. Using a metaphor to describe this phenomenon, business from our customer is like water, and cloud services are like a pipe with an infinite capability to carry water. Once our client turns on the flow of water, it almost always continues. Not only that, but the volume of that flow increases over time. Since this is the nature of our business, our long-term goals are to be greedy when it comes to increasing the number of our customers, improve customer retention by making our service sticky, and allow those customers to use more and more of our services. I am always telling our staff that if Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) were to become commoditized five years from now, we’ll need to differentiate ourselves with the services we provide. As a result, our strategy is to reinvest our earnings in building a skilled & talented team, in technology and in expansion into new markets.”

According to MP, the process is much like spinning an enormous and intricate spider web to simultaneously capture new customers and keep them “sticking around” eCloudvalley’s platform, while constantly widening the gap between the scope and robustness of your web and that of your competitors’ webs. As MP says, “For example, ATLAS is our proprietary cloud management platform and was developed very early in our company’s history. We have continued to add functionality and innovate, based on our years of experience and our accumulated know-how. Therefore, we continue to be the ‘first mover’, taking cloud services into areas where others have not even perceived the need nor the opportunity. The level of automation with ATLAS is far beyond that of our peers, and the platform allows our enterprise customers to automatically monitor their machines in datacenters all over the world. We are preparing our customers for the digital transformation of their business while ourselves keeping abreast of and investing in a diverse set of emerging technologies.” MP pauses, smiles and then adds, “Every new competency we develop can grow into a new business. We’ve seen it happen over and over again.”

Asia’s Most Knowledgeable & Experienced AWS Partner

“AWS has seen our continuous investment in technology and talent and has watched our level of expertise grow. They are pleased to have a partner that is so skilled in using their ‘LEGO blocks.’ This benefits eCloudvalley greatly when we enter new markets, as most of our initial customers are recommended by AWS. As a service provider who has been around for just over six years, convincing governments and large enterprises to entrust us with their data migration would otherwise be a big challenge. But the confidence that AWS shows in our capabilities is a strong endorsement, allowing us to win over these large accounts. For example, we just set up an office in Malaysia this year, and AWS has introduced several large enterprise projects that we are gearing up to execute. The same was true when we entered the Philippines and Singapore markets in the past few years. We are continually onboarding and training new talent, just to keep up with demand for our AWS-related services.”

MP pointed out that the total addressable market for Asian MSPs ex-Japan and ex-South Korea is projected to reach more than US$15 billion by 2023, and that AWS-related market share is expected to remain No. 1. He adds, “The market is large enough to accommodate many competitors. Our goal is very clear, to expand our market share within the AWS ecosystem by being the MSP who knows AWS best.” eCloudvalley has won the trust of AWS the old-fashioned way – they’ve earned it. The company has built a deep knowledge base of AWS certifications, successfully executed client projects one by one to burnish its reputation and developed the industry’s most comprehensive automated cloud management platform – all the while expanding its team size and enhancing its technical strength. Says MP, “AWS now passes its large enterprise customers and difficult projects onto us, as they want to ensure that these projects are well-executed so that they don’t to lose these customers. You can see that in the numbers; we have a much higher win rate for project bids than our competitors.

On the other hand, MP believes that the multi-cloud services model is more appropriate for large-scale global system integrators such as Accenture which already own a large customer base and can offer customers recommendations amongst different cloud service platforms. “If we wanted to provide multi-cloud services, we would need to enlarge our service team, and it would be even more difficult to remain profitable.” Therefore, at the current stage, eCloudvalley will maintain its strategy of focusing on AWS, growing together with AWS and gaining market share within the AWS ecosystem. MP adds, “But this does not mean that we will not provide any services for other cloud platforms. We offer our advice regarding other cloud platforms if it is requested by our customers.”

Cloud business still growing at a fast pace this year, despite the challenges brought on by COVID-19

Although the COVID-19 pandemic has created a challenging macro environment, eCloudvalley’s cloud business has maintained its trend of rapid growth year to date. MP commented, “Our hearts go out to all families who have lost loved ones or their livelihoods to COVID-19. We hope for the rapid development of a treatment and vaccine, and for a swift decline in the human toll that this virus is creating. In the first half of 2020, the impact of the pandemic on our cloud business has been negligible. First, more than 95% of our revenue is recurring, and existing customers continue to increase their usage of the cloud. Second, new customers that we pitched in the second half of last year initiated projects with us this year. Now that our client visiting process has returned to normal in each region, I believe our cloud revenue will continue to grow rapidly this year and in coming years.”

MP also indicated, “We have continued to execute our plans to expand to other regions and look to accelerate our expansion in Southeast Asia as soon as possible after the pandemic. We see Southeast Asia as the region with the strongest potential for revenue growth in coming years. Our revenue in the Philippines in 2019 increased tenfold over the previous year, and I believe that indicates we are on the right track there.” Regarding the long-term impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on eCloudvalley’s cloud business, MP says, “The pandemic has caused many enterprises to accelerate migration of their core systems to the cloud, and we are well-prepared to embrace this trend.”

eCloudvalley’s places a strong emphasis on talent cultivation and retention and has a robust internal system for onboarding and training new talent. The company’s strong growth in recent years has had a positive effect on the company’s new employee recruitment efforts. Says MP, “In the beginning, when we were nobody, it was very difficult for us to find the right talent. Today, we have gained a certain reputation in the industry, and talented candidates now frequently approach us to seek opportunities. Additionally, one reason that we are preparing for an IPO is to further enhance our ability to attract more motivated, hard-working young women and men to join our team.” As for the concern about talent poaching, he says with a big smile, “Yes, I think about this threat every day. It is one of my biggest concerns – and that is why I try to treat my employees so well that they will never want to leave! We’d like them to be ‘stuck’ in the Spider Web along with our customers.”

<< Source: Quantum International Corp (QIC) >>

2020-07-02T13:59:33+00:00 2020/07/02 |Insights|