三分鐘了解機器學習的四個學習方式

大數據的應用毫無疑問地是未來科技發展重要的一環。但要發揮資料的價值就不能忽略機器學習以及人工智慧。若要簡單解釋這三者的關係:大數據為材料、機器學習是處理方法,而人工智慧就是呈現出的結果。「機器學習」(Machine Learning)即讓機器(電腦)像人類一樣具有學習的能力。透過資料的訓練,現今機器學習已經廣泛的運用在生活裡,例如,自動駕駛汽車和自動化大眾運輸、簡化物流及配送方式、改善老年照護等等,將會使我們的生活越來越便利。

機器學習和人類學習的方式十分相似,要讓機器(電腦)像人類一樣具有學習能力的話,通常都會先進行「分類」(Classification),才能分析理解、進行判斷,最後才能採取行動。機器學習的種類最主要分成四種:監督式學習(Supervised learning)、非監督式學習(Un-supervised learning)、半監督式學習(Semi-supervised learning)及強化學習(Reinforcement learning)。

  1. 監督式學習(Supervised learning)所有資料都被「標註」(label),告訴機器相對應的值,以提供機器學習在輸出時判斷誤差使用。這種方法為人工分類,對電腦來說最簡單,對人類來說最辛苦。這種方法像是告訴機器(電腦)標準答案,正式考試的時候機器依照標準答案作答,正確性會比較高。例如,若要訓練機器區分大象和長頸鹿,則提供機器 100 張大象和長頸鹿的照片。機器依照標註的照片去偵測大象和長頸鹿的特徵,依照特徵就能辨識出大象和長頸鹿並進行預測。
  2. 非監督式學習(Un-supervised learning):所有資料都沒有標註,機器透過尋找資料的特徵,自己進行分類。此種方法不用人工進行分類,對人類來說最簡單,但對電腦來說最辛苦,誤差較大。若使用非監督式學習辨識大象及長頸鹿,機器得自行判斷提供的 100 張照片裡有哪些特徵的是大象、哪些特徵的是長頸鹿並同時進行分類。在未來預測時,利用機器自行所分類的特徵去辨識是哪一種動物。但機器所辨識的結果不一定正確。
  3. 半監督式學習(Semi-supervised learning):對少部分資料進行「標註」,電腦只要透過有標註的資料找出特徵並對其它的資料進行分類。這種方法可以讓預測時比較精準,是目前最常用的一種方式。若有 100 張照片,則標註其中 10 張哪些是大象哪些是長頸鹿。機器透過這 10 張照片的特徵去辨識及分類剩餘的照片。因為已經有辨識的依據,所以預測出來的結果通常比非監督式學習準確。
  4. 強化式學習(Reinforcement learning):機器透過每一次與環境互動來學習,以取得最大化的預期利益。運用強化式學習的方式,我們不標註任何資料,但告訴它所採取的哪一步是正確、那一步是錯誤的,根據反饋的好壞,機器自行逐步修正、最終得到正確的結果。能使非監督式學習達成一定程度的正確性,就不能缺少強化式學習的方式。若機器自行辨識特徵與分類,將某張大象的照片預測成長頸鹿,則人類給予錯誤的訊息。機器會再次辨認特徵及分類。透過一次一次正確與錯誤的學習,最後的預測經會越來越精準。

以上介紹的四個種類,監督式學習是最準確的但卻也是耗費最多人力成本的。但如果想在有限的人力成本之下掌握高準確度怎麼辦呢?有鑑於此, Amazon 提出了 Amazon SageMaker Ground Truth,透過建構高準確度的資料集來減少添加標註所造成的人力成本。完整的教學可以參考以下這篇部落格,讓您透過實驗輕輕鬆鬆了解 SageMaker 的功能:SageMaker Ground Truth 建立高度精確資料集

machine-learning

參考資源:

  1. 15 Ways Machine Learning Will Impact Your Everyday Life
  2. Types of Machine Learning Algorithms You Should Know
  3. Overview Talk: 從大數據走向人工智慧
  4. 翻轉人類未來的 AI 科技:機器學習與深度學習
2019-03-29T16:44:09+00:00 2019/03/28 |大數據|

Understand Four Types of Machine Learning Algorithms within 3 Minutes

The application of Big Data is undoubtedly an important part of technological development in the future. However, machine learning and artificial intelligence both play an important role of unleashing the value of data. The relationship between the three is briefly explained: Big data for materials, machine learning for the method, and artificial intelligence is the result. Machine Learning means machines (computers) have the same learning capability how humans learns. Through the data, machine learning nowadays has been widely used in life, for example, self-driving driving cars and automated transportation, streamlined logistics and distribution, improving elder care and so on to make our life more convenient.

The way how machine learning works is similar to how human learns. In order for a machine (computer) to have the same learning ability as a human being, it is usually done by “classification” before it can analyze, judge, and finally take action. The types of machine learning algorithms are mainly divided into four categories: Supervised learning, Un-supervised learning, Semi-supervised learning, and Reinforcement learning.

  1. Supervised learning: All materials are “labeled” to tell the machine the corresponding value to make it predict the correct value. This method is mostly manual classification, which is the easiest for a computer and the hardest for humans. This method is like telling the machine (computer) standard answer. When the machine is officially tested, the machine will reply according to the standard answer, and the reliability will be greater. For example, if you would like to train a machine to distinguish between elephants and giraffes, you can provide 100 photos of elephants and giraffes. The machine detects the characteristics of elephants and giraffes according to the “labeled” photographs and identifies elephants and giraffes according to their characteristics. In the end, it will correctly predicts them.
  2. Un-supervised learning: No material is labeled, and the machine classifies materials itself by detecting the characteristics of the data. Manually classification is not involved in this method, which is the simplest for humans, but it is the hardest for the computer and caused more errors. If un-supervised learning is used to identify elephants and giraffes, the machine must decide which of the 100 photos provided are elephants and which are giraffes and do the classification at the same time. In the future predictions, the machine identifies which animal it is according to the characteristics and classification it detects. However, the results identified by the machine are not necessarily correct.
  3. Semi-supervised learning: A small amount of data are labeled. Computers only need to find features through labeled data and then classify other data accordingly. This method can make predictions more accurate and is the most commonly used method. If there are 100 photos, 10 of them which are elephants and which are giraffes are labeled. Through the characteristics of these 10 photos, the machine identifies and classifies the remaining photos. Because there is already a basis for identification, the predicted results are usually more accurate than un-supervised learning.
  4. Reinforcement learning: The machine uses observations gathered from the interaction with the environment to take actions that would maximize the reward or minimize the risk. Using reinforcement learning, there is no labeled materials, but tell it which step is correct and that step is wrong. According to the quality of the feedback, the machine gradually amends its classification and finally gets the correct result. In order to achieve a certain level of correctness in un-supervised learning, integration of reinforcement learning is necessary. If the machine identifies the features and classifications on its own and predicts the image of an elephant as a giraffe, the human gives the wrong message. The machine will recognize the features and classification again. Through correct and wrong learning at one time, the final prediction will become more and more accurate.

Among four types mentioned above, supervised learning is the most accurate but also cost most. But what if you want to master high accuracy under limited labor and cost? Amazon provides the services of Amazon SageMaker Ground Truth to reduce the labor costs by accelerating the building of highly accurate data sets. You can refer to the following blog post, allowing you to easily understand the features of SageMaker through hands-on lab: SageMaker Ground Truth builds a highly accurate data set.

machine-learning

Reference: 

2019-08-29T16:34:25+00:00 2019/03/29 |Big Data|