如何成为一间「云优先(Cloud-first)」的企业

尚记得 2014 年我与客户分享 AWS 的情景仍历历在目······

亚太区的云市场发展跟欧美国家不太一样,亚太区客户採用云运算的脚步特别快,但是企业内部的云渗透率是非常缓慢的。

当时客户最常问我三个问题:

  1. 为什麽要搬到 AWS 上?
  2. 公有云安全吗?
  3. 使用 AWS 的费用非常昂贵

四年后,一切都改变了。客户不再问「为什麽要搬到 AWS 上?」而是开始询问「如何更快速地搬迁上云?」。

如果你去深入了解 AWS,AWS 成立于 2006 年,是共享经济的先锋,更有趣的是,AWS 只不过比 Airbnb 早 2 年成立,比 Uber 早 3 年!AWS 不仅仅是共享经济的先驱,它也包容这个体系,例如 Airbnb、Lyft、Gobee.bike 都是 AWS 的客户。

AWS 提供了平台,让新创公司以最低的机会成本「拥抱失败」,同时加速创新的步伐,因此 2006 年后,新创公司如雨后春笋冒了出来。

传统的商业模式面临挑战

Deloitte’s Shift Index 报告裡提到,半个世纪前,前 500 强企业的平均预期寿命是 75 年,至今已经下滑至 15 年以下,甚至若企业不做任何改变,将在 5 年内消失。因此,我们能将商业模式的 4 大要素拆解如下:

  • 客户:现今客户比以前更有权力,他们现在有更多的选择以及更高的期许,不愿意再绑长期合约,也希望能为自己做主。
  • 流程:上一代的观念例如着重渐进式改善的六式码(Six sigma),在变化快速的流程当中,这项概念还是管用的,但现今更重要的是,企业的流程是否能够模组化并被採用。
  • 资源:庞大的资产负债表将不再是「进入壁垒(barriers to entry)」,而是刚好相反,轻资产运营模式正在各行各业兴起,影响所及计程车业、住宿业、飞机产业等。
  • 成本:降低成本,投资您的「服务」。现在我们了解到,云让进入新市场的边际成本趋近于 0 ,更能符合收益与支出。

简单来说,云计算正在改变我们的商业思维以及营运模式,更发展出了新的方法例如持续交付、DevOps,挑战传统思维,让你能以全新的方式服务客户。

企业该像新创公司一样「创新」

企业正面临庞大的威胁,最吓人的不是现有的竞争者,而是新创界的潜在对手。他们应变快速、失败得也快,但当他们找到最佳切入点,他们将以全新的模式跟企业竞争,在数位化的时代,企业唯一的生存法则就是效法新创公司

  • 建立不断创新的文化:一切都从改变企业的心态开始。为了让企业继续生存,你需要跳出舒适圈。通常大企业都需要破坏式的创新,可能是从内部发起或是外来影响。以亚马逊 (Amazon) 为例,电商平台最大的优势之一就是其仓库管理系统,这套系统降低了储存成本,加快货物发放与服务的速度,但亚马逊并不满足于现阶段的成功,亚马逊接着发展 Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA) 服务,虽然亚马逊因此失去了技术与其仓库管理系统上的优势,但反而藉由提供全球上百万卖家物流管理服务而获利,这些网路卖家也能藉此提供买家 2 日出货以及退换货服务。由此可见,建立不断创新的文化是大型企业的求生关键。
  • 在企业内部成立「创新实验室 ( innovation lab)」:企业内部成千上万的员工,并不是所有人都善于创新,这是无庸置疑的。当你推动一个创新的文化一定会受到许多的质疑,而建立创新实验室的目的即是你创新计划的焦点所在,创新实验室替员工提供了全新的工作环境来执行创新计划,而这项方法已经被证实能够创新得更快、更聪明、更经济实惠。若想更了解创新实验室,我推荐阅读 Jake Knapp 的「Sprint」一书,这本书提供了方法去解决问题、尝试新点子。
  • 藉由 AWS 云端运算试验数位创新:为你的创意善用工具。AWS 提供了完美的环境能让用户尝试新的尝试,不需要再经过传统软硬体的採购流程,现在你可以在几分钟之内开启一台机器并执行你的新专案,除此之外,若你的创意失败的,你唯一的损失只有开机器的费用,因为 AWS 的收费模式是随取随用,无须绑约的。
  • 偕同伙伴加速数位转型:很多时候你并没有资源去执行新的专案,同时也没有方法建立云端创新实验室,我们强烈建议你寻找专精于云端的伙伴,这些伙伴的商业模式是随着云端资源与软体而变化,而非本地的软硬体,这些伙伴能利用云端优势,为你的创新想法开发、设计解决方案。

 

Jason Tam 谭子聪
Head of eCloudvalley Hong Kong

2019-03-21T13:30:21+00:00 2018/02/21 |商业洞悉|

How to be a cloud-first enterprise?

I can still recall the day in 2014 when I was presenting the benefit of using AWS. Unlike United States or other western countries, the cloud adoption rate in APAC is very fastbut the penetration rate is very slow. The top 3 questions that enterprise customers asked are:

  1. Why I need to move to AWS?
  2. Is Public Cloud secure?
  3. The cost of running applications on AWS is very expensive

After 4 years, everything has changed. Customer no longer ask, “Why I need to move to Cloud” but “How can I move to the Cloud quickly”. If you dive deep and understand AWS, AWS is started their business in 2006 and it is the pioneer of the shared economy. In fact, it is very interested to know that AWS is founded 2 years ahead of Airbnb and 3 years ahead of Uber. No only AWS is the pioneer of the shared economy, it embraces them. Airbnb, Lyft, and Gobee.bike are the customers of AWS.

AWS gives them a platform to fail in a much lower opportunity cost and increase the pace of innovation. And that’s the reasons after 2006, the number of startups are increasing.

Conventional Business Models are under attack

As Deloitte’s Shift Index  shows, the average life expectancy of a Fortune 500 company has declined from around 75 years half a century ago to less than 15 years today, and heading towards 5 years if nothing is done. So, if we deconstruct a business model into four key components what are we seeing is as below:

  • Customers: Customers have more power than ever before. Customers are no longer willing to sign up to long term commitments. They have lots of choice and have much higher expectations. Customers also want to be able to make choices of their own
  • Processes: Previous generations concept such as six sigma where in high demand where incremental improvement was a key focus. While this is still true due to the fast-moving landscape its now very important that you have processes that are modular and can be adapted.
  • Resources: Size and a fat balance sheet are no longer a barrier to entry. The inverse is almost the case. Asset light business models are emerging in all industries from taxis to accommodation to aircraft
  • Cost Base: All about reducing cost to serve. Now we’re at a point where the marginal cost of entry into new markets is almost zero and it is much closer alignment of revenue and costs

In short, the Cloud is changing how we should think about our business and operating models. Cloud computing has enabled new methodologies like continuous deliveries and DevOps to explode and challenge traditional thinking on how you support your customers.

Innovation like a startup in Enterprise

Yes. Enterprise is facing a huge threat right now. And the most scared thing is not the existing competitors but the potential competitors in a startup world. They act fast, fail fast, and once they find a sweet spot, they will compete with you in a totally new form of competition. The only way to survive in this new digital era is that how can a large enterprise can act like a startup?

  • Establish a culture of innovation: Everything should start from changing the mindset in the organization. To survive, you need to leave your comfort zone. Large companies need to disrupt themselves or be disrupted. Take Amazon as an example. One of the absolute advantage of its eCommerce Platform is their warehouse system. It keeps the storage cost low and deliver the goods and services more quickly. Amazon didn’t stop here and enjoy their success. They launched Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA). Although Amazon lost its strengths in the technology and warehouse system, it regains the revenue by providing the fulfilment services to millions of sellers around the world. And those sellers can provide 2 days shipping and return services as well. Establish a culture of innovation is a key survival factor for large enterprises.
  • Build the innovation lab within your enterprise: Admit it. With thousands of employees, not everyone will be your champion for innovation. There are lots of noises when you are doing an innovation initiative. The mission of innovation lab is to serve as a focal point for innovation programs and activities and it provides a new working environment for the staff to do innovation projects and it proves that it helps to innovating faster, smarter, and cheaper. One of the books I highly recommend is “Sprint” written by Jake Knapp and it provides a framework to solve big problems and test new ideas.
  • Experiment new digital initiatives with AWS Cloud Computing: You need to utilize tools for innovations. AWS provides a perfect environment for testing the new digital initiatives. You do not need to go through a legacy procurement process of purchasing hardware and software. You can spin up machines in a few minutes and run your new projects. Nevertheless, if an innovation idea is failed, what you need to pay is only the running cost as the pricing philosophy of AWS is pay as you go and without contract period.
  • Accelerate your digital transformation with partners: A lot of time, you do not have resources to work on a new digital project. Also, you may not have a practice of building a cloud innovation lab. We highly recommend you look for born-in-the-cloud partners. Those partners whose business models revolve around cloud-based delivery of computing resources and software rather than on-premises hardware and licensed software. They can help to develop and design an innovative solution which can take advantage of the many benefits of cloud computing

 

Jason Tam
Head of eCloudvalley Hong Kong

2018-10-29T11:34:16+00:00 2018/03/01 |Insights|
Meet cloud experts
Meet cloud experts
Questions, doubts, issues? We're here to help you!
Connecting...
None of our operators are available at the moment. Please, try again later.
Our operators are busy. Please try again later
:
:
:
Have you got question? Write to us!
:
:
This chat session has ended
Was this conversation useful? Vote this chat session.
Good Bad